The Senior Trophy 
Bands Directory   |   Events   |   Products & Services   |   People   |   Organisations   |   Reference   |   About IBEW   |   Contact

The Senior Trophy

When the Senior Cup Contest was started in 1932 to accommodate the numerous bands that wanted to compete in the Spring Belle Vue Festival other qualifying contests took place. The Senior Trophy winning bands joined the following year's Senior Cup and thence could progress to the Grand Shield and ultimately the British Open. After many years absence the Senior Trophy was revived in 2002. The top six bands are invited to compete in the following year's Senior Cup Contest.

Year Champion Band Conductor Test Piece
2010Beaumaris Gwyn EvansLe Roi D'Ys - Edouard Lalo
2009United Norwest Co-op Milnrow John WardSpectrum - Gilbert Vinter
2008Powerfuel Hatfield Colliery Graham O'ConnorEpic Symphony - Percy Fletcher
2007Stockbridge D. NesbittBallet for Band - Joseph Horovitz
2006Kingdom BrassC AndersonEssence of Time - Peter Graham
2005Alliance BrassJ. ClarkConnotations - Edward Gregson
2004StaffordshireJ HinckleyConcerto for Band - John Golland
2003Pennine BrassI PorthouseTournament for Brass - Eric Ball
2002Pemberton Old WiganA LawtonUn Vie de Matelot - Robert Farnon