The All England Masters Championships 
Bands Directory   |   Events   |   Products & Services   |   People   |   Organisations   |   Reference   |   About IBEW   |   Contact

The All England Masters Championships

This contest is usually held at the end of May each year, and was first held in 1989. Championship Section bands compete by invitation. The test piece is selected, by ballot of the competing bands, from a short list of six pieces.

50 Things you need to know about "The Masters"

Year Champion Band Conductor Test Piece
2006Rothwell TemperanceDavid RobertsPaganini Variations - P Wilby
2005Scottish Co-opNicholas ChildsCloudcatcher Fells - John McCabe
2004Yorkshire Building SocietyD KingHarrison's Dream - P Graham
2003LeylandGary CuttChivalry - Martin Ellerby
2002FodensRussell GrayAtlantic - Philip Wilby
2001Brighouse & RastrickA WithingtonPageantry - Herbert Howells
2000Yorkshire Building SocietyD KingContest Music - W Heaton
1999Yorkshire Building SocietyD KingTristan Encounters - M Ellerby
1998Brighouse & RastrickA WithingtonDances and Arias - E Gregson
1997Williams FaireyJames GourlayJazz - P Wilby
1996Williams FaireyJames GourlayHymn at Sunset - R Steadman-Allen
1995Britannia Building SocietyHoward SnellPaganini Variations - P Wilby
1994Britannia Building SocietyHoward SnellMontage - P Graham
1993Brighouse & RastrickA WithingtonEnglish Heritage - G Lloyd
1992British Nuclear Fuels LtdR EvansCambridge Variations - P Sparke
1991Britannia Building SocietyHoward SnellHarmony Music - P Sparke
1990Britannia Building SocietyHoward SnellBlitz - D Bourgeois
1989Leyland-DAFRichard EvansCloudcatcher Fells - J McCabe