The British National Championships - First Section 
Bands Directory   |   Events   |   Products & Services   |   People   |   Organisations   |   Reference   |   About IBEW   |   Contact

The British National Championships - First Section

The National Brass Band Championship Finals are held each year in the autumn. In recent years the lower section finals have been held at the Harrogate International Conference Centre, in September, with the Championship section final in the Royal Albert Hall in London in October. The competing bands have all, with the exception of the previous year's Champion Band of Great Britain, won their place in the finals by gaining first or second place in one of the eight Regional Championships held in the spring each year. The First Section was created in 1992 to extend the range of sections and establish a less crowded "premier" Championship section.

Year 1st Section Champions Conductor Test Piece
2011  La Forza Del Destino - Verdi, (arr. Frank Wright)
2010Friary GuildfordChris KingDiversions on a Bass Theme - George Lloyd
2009Tongwynlais Temperance Philip HarperTriumphant Rhapsody - Gilbert Vinter
2008Seindorf BeaumarisGwyn EvansThe Saga of Haakon the Good - Philip Sparke
2007Pennine Brass Ian PorthouseVictorian Snapshots: On Ratcliff Highway - Ray Steadman-Allen
2006Kibworth Band John BerrymanBallet from The Perfect Fool - Gustav Holst, arr. Peter Parkes
2005Yorkshire Imperial Urquhuart TravelC HouldingPageantry - Herbert Howells
2004Pemberton Old Wigan JJBM PeacockThe King of Elfland's Daughter - Rodney Newton
2003BHK (UK) Ltd HordenJ.W. BeddellA Kensington Concerto - Eric Ball
2002StaffordshireDavid MaplestoneLeonardo - Philip Wilby
2001Asda StocksbridgeD RenshawFantasy for Brass Band - M Arnold
2000Thorseby R.J.B.Stan LippeattFrontier! - Michael Ball
1999Ashton-Under-LyneMartyn EvansSalute to Youth - G Vinter
1998Todmorden OldDennis HadfieldMidsummer Music - M Ball
1997FreckletonP DaltonSinfonietta for Brass Band - J Curnow
1996LongridgeG CloughPrisms - P Graham
1995Rolls Royce (Coventry)D LeaThe Frogs of Aristophanes - G Bantock
1994Northrop SilverJ ScottThe Essence of Time - P Graham
1993Point of Ayr Colliery (EIMCO)B SägstadJourney into Freedom - E Ball
1992British TelecomJ MainesA London Overture - P Sparke